Why I chose the Echelon Bike

We are living in verrrrry strange times. A big downside to the lockdowns we have been experiencing here in Ontario, is that gyms have been closed down for nearly a year. Now, I know this issue sounds silly compared to some of the problems people are facing, but being physically active plays a big role in one’s physical and mental health. Today I am sharing my experience with my Echelon EX-4.

Like a lot of people, and likely those who are reading this very blog post, I did a lot of googling before deciding to buy our Echelon from Costco. There are a lot of bikes out there, and I was tempted by the Peloton ads that kept popping up. Ultimately, I decided that the Peloton was not worth the price tag, and am thrilled with my choice.

One of the biggest factors for me was the price, at Costco, our Echelon was just under $1500.00. I knew I had wanted to purchase an actual road bike as well, and was able to afford both bikes for less than what a Peleton alone would have cost. I consider this a huge win, and have been loving getting outside on my road bike.

For someone relatively new to cycling (I had done a few spin classes when I worked at GoodLife Fitness and loved it, but not much since then!), I found the Echelon to be very user friendly. Buying at Costco, our bike came with a year free membership, which was an added bonus.

The bike is fairly easy to set up, but is very heavy, which makes the rider stable and secure. The EX-4 came with a tablet screen that is the perfect size. I didn’t want to have to use my ipad, as it’s often missing in the couch for weeks, not charged, with toddler fingerprints on it. This would just be another excuse for me to not get on the bike!

The rides are great, coaches are motivating, and there really is something for everyone. My only complaint is that I was expecting there to be more live classes, but with a little planning ahead, it’s a nonissue. I will keep you updated on my cycling progress!

-Hunter

Leave a comment